Well, it’s Saturday morning. I made it one day without self-injury this week. But that’s better than not making it any days at all. The episodes are decreasing in intensity, so perhaps soon they will dissipate all together and go into a dormant state.

This coming Wednesday I have my first counseling session. I will fill out some paperwork, discuss payments, and meet with my prospective counselor. In light of this, and the forseen anxiety associated with such a meeting, I am trying to prepare myself.

One of the ways I am working to prepare is by writing out questions I want to ask the prospective counselor. I have typed my list below. Feel free to add questions, in the comments section, that you would ask a prospective counselor.

1) Do you have experience working with child abuse survivors? How much?

2) What made you want to become a counselor?

3) How much experience do you have working with patients who struggle with depression, anxiety, PTSD, self-injury, and disordered eating?

4) What role do you believe medication plays in the healing process?

Another way I am preparing is by thinking about my own life, and jotting down a short list of things I might be comfortable talking about during our first session. This way, if I do feel relatively safe, I will have a few ideas for “testing the waters” so to speak.

I would love to hear other suggestions of what you would do to aid getting to know the counselor and acclimating yourself to someone who could possibly help you work through your own struggles.

To all those who read, I would love to know you are reading. Even if you just comment saying “I’m here,” it would grealty help me not feel so alone and vulnerable in this big cyber world. Thank you.

~SS

